Author Topic: Crater Lake over the holidays  (Read 5092 times)

rhyang

• Llama Dangler
Crater Lake over the holidays
« on: February 09, 2014, 12:47:24 PM »
Long time, no mud.  I've been recovering from spinal surgery for the past nine months.  After three months my doctor said it was OK to start backpacking and gentle cycling, so I've been doing a lot of hiking and riding.

This winter has been pretty disappointing snow-wise until recently, so over the holidays I went to southern Oregon and went for a snowshoe trip around the entirety of Crater Lake.  The park road around the lake is 33 miles, and in the winter most of it is closed and unplowed (the 3 miles between park HQ and Rim Village is usually plowed and open though).

I started bright and early on Dec. 28th from Rim Village, about 7100'.

The first 7 miles were pretty easy because of its popularity (trail broken and consolidated snow).  Southern OR had been having a bit of a drought as well, just not as bad as CA.

Wizard Island

Mt. Shasta, McLoughlin, Union (all Cascade volcanoes)

In places the snow was melted or windblown enough that the road showed through.

Near the junction with the north access road there were snowmobile tracks -- the 'bilers are allowed up to the park road but no further.

Mt. Thielson (right) and some other volcanoes

After 11 miles I stopped at Cleetwood Cove and camped.  In the summer there is a trail down to the lake where the NPS runs boat tours.

(continued on next post)

rhyang

• Llama Dangler
Re: Crater Lake over the holidays
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2014, 01:02:13 PM »
Next morning I started early and headed down around the eastern part of the lake.  It was harder going because I often had to break trail, or there was an icy crust that I would sometimes punch through.  In other places there were spots where the road was exposed.

The scenery was pretty awesome though.

I decided to stop and camp a bit south of Pumice Castle, about 8.5 miles for the day.