Author Topic: Share: Lowering a follower in Autoblock Mode  (Read 2852 times)

mudworm

• Head Mistress
    • http://www.mxi2000.net
Share: Lowering a follower in Autoblock Mode
« on: December 05, 2015, 08:34:20 PM »
Not that long ago, I used an autoblock device (an old one with all the markings gone) incorrectly while belaying seconds up an easy route due to my misunderstanding of the autoblock mechanisms. Lucky for me that they did not fall, but that was a wake up call, so now I study the correct usage of my devices. Got a new BD ATC Guide and loving it so much that I got Mr. Mud one. So, today, when I saw this article, I studied it closely and wanted to share it with Mr. Mud. Well, if I share with one person, why not share with everyone?

Honestly speaking, I didn't know one cannot simply tilt the ATC Guide to open up of the autolock in order to lower the follower, so I'm very grateful that I get to read this article before I have the opportunity to make a mistake. Well, I will not be making that mistake for sure.

Here is the R&I article: Climber Dropped When Lowered in Autoblock Mode

And here is the highlight:

ATC-Guide properly backed-up with a Munter Hitch in lowering mode. There are various ways to rig this, but all must include a back-up/lowering hitch or friction knot on the brake-hand side of the rope. This is because when ATC-Guide is released by pulling the cord, it completely releases. Without the Munter Hitch or other back-up, you will drop your second.

And there is another article linked: http://www.rockandice.com/lates-news/climb-safe-autoblock-misuse-atc-guide

Climb safe!
Inch by inch, I will get there.

mudworm

• Head Mistress
    • http://www.mxi2000.net
Re: Share: Lowering a follower in Autoblock Mode
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2015, 09:09:51 PM »
Someone in FB comments posted this video: